top of page

CORY KENDRIX


CORY KENDRIX

Rapper, Producer, Singer, Father & Creator

We sat down to ask one of our favorite artists a few questions.

Check out his quick interview below!

THE QUICK INTERVIEW:

Conscious Creatives: What was the first song you loved?

Cory: Wow that's a really good question, I'm honestly over whelmed with thoughts right now of what the actual first song I really "loved" is. Just off the top tho the first song I can remember as a child being super hyped on every time I heard it was a Garth Brooks song called "Low Places" I use to get down to that jawn! lmao but for real I know that sounds mad corny but I grew up in a small country town in Oregon and that's what I was exposed to at an early age and that's the song that stands out as first song I like wanted to hear again and again lol crazy.

Conscious Creatives: What are you most excited for in this years SXSW?

Cory: SX is kind of like a Austin Music scene family reunion for me these days lol. I lived in Austin the majority of my life so that's where I built my home base at musically. So now every time I'm at SX it's nice just seeing all of my old friends and family and enjoying good company and good music and catching everybody's else's shows and seeing how everyone's improved and evolved with their music there, it's nice. These days that's probably my favorite part if you would have asked me that 5 years ago it's would have definitely been a crazier answer for sure lol I've calmed down a lot over the years, this will be my 9th consecutive year as an official performer on SX I think I only got 1 more year left in me after this upcoming one lol

Conscious Creatives: What's your favorite song of yours?

Cory: These questions are good dang lol. That's a tough one I would honestly have to say what ever the last track I recorded is probably. I get burnt out on my own music pretty quick because every time I make a new track I listen to it for days if not weeks, over and over again until I make something new and then I move on to that song lol. By the time I release music it's usually like at least year old so I'm always on something different by then but my favorite old song of mine (which is my old boombap style rap I've changed it up completely these days) would be "Deep Thoughts" off my old tape. It's just a very reflective record and probably one of my most meaningful and inspiring records I've released to date even if it is an older style of mine it's timeless and real and raw and i look back and listen to it and I'm like damn it's dope I was able to capture that feeling and emotion and turn it into something dope to listen to!

Conscious Creatives: What's something new you'd like to try this year?

Cory: So I actually have 2 things I really want to try this year creatively speaking anyways. First off I've already been dabbling with singing more live on stage as opposed to just rapping (s/o to Povi for pushing me to sing the songs we have together live at her shows) but I would really like to create an entire set of my RnB vibes I've been making lately and potentially create live renditions with a band and start performing that type of music more and ease off the rap shows some and kind of allow my self to break into that genre more and break out of my shell with my vocals. I also will at some point this year attempt a stand up comedy set I've been working on it and writing down ideas for it for a while now and I think with a little bit of practice it could be something I will really enjoy and will boost my creativeness in all aspects.

Conscious Creatives: How did you get into producing?

Cory: I got into producing back in the summer after 8th grade (almost 20 years ago crazy). One of my friends who was like the computer nerd dude in school introduced me to Fruity Loops 3 I believe and ACID Pro and out the programs on my moms tower computer at my house. So once I learned how to kind of maneuver through the software and some of my other homies started using FL as well, by the time summer was over and school started we were like literally skipping class and coming back to my apartment and making beats all day and recording shitty low quality raps over them. I had a girlfriend back then who had an amazing voice so we would always get her to sing the hooks so that where I first kind of got into melodies and learned how to produce and cater to that sound and over time it's jut evolved. I also stood behind my bro Y2JJ (super dope established producer) for years and just asked a million question and picked his brain until I leveled up lol.

Conscious Creatives: What's it like having a son?

Cory: The most amazing thing in the world! He motivates and inspires me daily. It has taught me a lot about patience and as difficult as it may be at times it's the most rewarding feeling in the world! It's like having a miniature version of your self that always brings a smile to your face!

Conscious Creatives: What's the coolest show you've played so far?

Cory: Festivals honestly, at this point in my career I've opened up for everybody from Drake to Ugly God with some Tinashe and Public enemy sprinkled in to mix up the genres but hand down my favorite shows are festivals! I've been blessed to have been able to rock on some super dope festivals like SXSW,NXNE,FFF Fest, Pop Montreal, A3C and a lot more. It's something about the vibe of a festival that makes the performance that much more hype and the size of the audience feeds the fuel for a high energy set! I think my favorite festival so far other then SX would have to be Pop Montreal it was craziness the venue had a skate park in it and I co headlined with this crazy dude who bought out the bar and hired strippers to give everybody lap dances during his performance it was bananas definitely a memory I will never forget!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page